Legal Status of EAST

EAST is a consortium with 15 members from 15 European countries. 

The consortium is structured as follows:

General Assembly (GA):
The GA consists of one representative per Member Organization. All decision are taken by the GA, by majority of the members present. The General Assembly is the highest authority of the EAST organization and determines its general policy. The GA is chaired by the president of EAST. The president is elected by the GA for a two-year term.

Executive Office (EO):
The EO consists of a director and her or his staff. The EO is responsible for the day-to-day operation of EAST. The director is nominated and elected by the GA for a three-year term, which is renewable.

At Present:

  • EAST President: Prof. Mats Carlsson (Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics, University of Oslo, Norway)
  • EAST Vice President: Prof. Oskar von der Lühe (Kiepenheuer-Institut für Sonnenphysik, Freiburg, Germany)
  • EAST Executive Director: Rolf Schlichenmaier (Kiepenheuer-Institut für Sonnenphysik, Freiburg, Germany).